Throwing a Bridal Shower

Last weekend my mom, sister, and I threw my youngest sister a bridal shower.  She had two requests: no games and champagne.  A girl after my own heart.  My mom and I schemed for weeks about what we were going to serve, how we were going to decorate, and what we were going to do  — besides drink champagne.

My sister is studying to be a baker, so I went with a baking themed bridal shower.  These invitations from The Perched Owl Etsy shop were perfect.  I also included recipe cards for each attendee to fill out with their favorite recipe.

Bake and Shake Couples Wedding Shower Invitation

My mom and I then decided to have a mimosa bar.  Who doesn’t love mimosas?  My personal champagne drink of choice is a champassion — champagne and passion fruit juice topped with raspberries.  This was most people’s favorite.

We decided to have mini finger foods.  We had Greek salad bites, goat cheese and truffle potatoes, mini potato skins, a cheese plate, fruit plate, and mini quiches.  It was all easy to make and only two required the oven.

Since my sister will be a full-fledged baker soon, I thought it would be fun for us to all decorate mini cakes.  This was a hit.  You get to decorate and eat a cake?  Win!

Despite my sister’s coaching on how to decorate a cake, this is what I managed to end up with.  Obviously, I am not going to be a professional cake decorator anytime soon. A professional champassion drinker?  Maybe.

My very talented other sister was on hand to take portraits of everyone.  She is quite good at what she does.

She’ll take pictures of you and your dog, too.

Overall, it was a fantastic Saturday.

6 Comments

Filed under culinary cravings

6 responses to “Throwing a Bridal Shower

  1. Wow! What a great party you guys threw!!! Love all the little details

  2. How fun is that!!! I am going to keep all of these ideas filed away under a bookmark (I’ve got 3 girls! And one of them is close to the “M” word…She won’t let me say it.) You look amazing, by the way, and your sister IS good!

  3. Pearl

    Super cute! What great ideas ya’ll had. That picture of you and Shaw is awesome. 🙂

  4. You look beautiful in the camel dress, and I love the photo with your dogs looking at the table. I hope they got a little bridal shower snack. :o)

Leave a Reply

