Avoiding the ‘Tox

I want Botox.  Not Real Housewives of _________ City Botox, but baby Botox.  Small, tiny injections of Botox that will help me age gracefully and slowly.  But, I won’t get Botox.  Why?  One:  I am deathly afraid of needles.  Two: I can’t get over the thought of poison being shot into my forehead.  So, I guess I should say that I like the idea of Botox.  I like the idea of something softening my fine lines and helping my sun-ravaged skin look a few years younger than it really is.  I never want to look frozen or like I am trying be decades younger than I am, but I want to wake up when I am 45 and have people say, “No.  Really?  I would have thought you were 38.”  Am I the only one?

Preventative care is imperative to my future face.  Right?  I am hoping that by doing small things now, I can avoid having to do drastic things later.  So, in an effort to avoid the ‘tox, I have been doing several things.

I have already spoken about my love of at-home peels.  They are fantastic.  My skin feels smooth, firm, and clear after a peel.  I do them weekly.

I slather my skin morning and night with multiple creams.  I have yet to find something I am 100% committed to, so I change every year or so.  Have one you love? I’d love to know about it.

My newest obsession is the Nu Skin ageLOC Galvanic Spa.  Yes, it was pricey, but worth every penny.  Every single one.

ageLOC Galvanic Spa

There are tons of very science-y facts about why this is great.  All I know is I love it.  My skin feels clean and bright after I use it and the lines on my forehead are much less pronounced.  My mom  bought one too and I can’t tell you how much firmer, smoother, and brighter her skin is.  Seriously. The difference in my skin wasn’t as drastic as hers, but I am still beyond pleased.  I am hoping that this little device, my peels, and my creams will help stay looking youthful.

What kind of anti-aging products do you use?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Avoiding the ‘Tox

  1. mamavalveeta03

    As a former makeup artist, I totally believe in the “Dermatologist’s Trifecta”:
    1. Antioxidant in the a.m. (and p.m., if you want faster results). I love Skinceuticals Ferulic CE, or Bobbi Brown Intensive Skin Supplement
    2. Retin A (Or a derivative if your skin can’t handle full strength;but they make much milder versions these days). I can’t live without mine. I am 52, and I don’t have a line on my face!
    3. Sunscreen!!! I know, we hear it over and over again, but it is KEY to keeping your skin young looking. Use an SPF 30 on your face and neck (and SPF in your makeup doesn’t count toward this!)
    And with the Retin A and antioxidant, skin does repair itself somewhat. My advice? Don’t try to look younger, just look like a fresher version of you by taking the best possible care of your skin!

    • This is great advice! I’ll make an appt with my dermatologist for a prescription!

      Sydney

      This is sent from my phone, so please excuse any mistakes.

      • mamavalveeta03

        You won’t believe the difference in your skin, Sydney! I no longer have any acne problems, and my skin glows again. Ask about a mild version for you to start with(you can always work up to something stronger).

  2. Cassie Fisher

    Hi Sydney,
    I am 38 and have started Botox. I didn’t start out by saying, “Oh, I want Botox.” My dog bit me last Thanksgiving on my lip to my nose. The bite caused me to have 8 stitches. To have the stitches removed, I had to go to a plastic surgeon. Long story short, I started a routine of Botox and Juvederm. I have needles, but my doctor is really good at putting a numbing cream on before he does the Botox. I don’t feel the needles at all. If you want Botox, go for it! It has erased a lot of the lines on my forehead. good luck!

Leave a Reply

