Contemplating a Fall Budget

I have never sat down at the start of the season and designated a specific amount of money to be spent on pieces for that season, but I am tempted to do that this fall.  I want to write out a specific plan of pieces I need, pick a monetary amount allowed to be spent, and stick to it.  This, of course, does not mean that I spend freely each season, I have just never actually set a budget and stuck to it.  Yet the thought of doing it is quite intriguing. I don’t track what I spend each month on clothes ( I know this is terrible), but I have an idea of what I spend each month.  Setting a seasonal budget is different than setting a monthly budget though.  Trying to determine what one needs for the whole season seems a bit hard, but I am going to try it.  Have you ever set a seasonal budget? Any tips?

6 Comments

Filed under Closet Cravings

6 responses to “Contemplating a Fall Budget

  1. It’s one of those “shoulds”, so I haven’t done it. But I keep telling myself that I’m going to. Just starting with something as simple as setting aside a certain amount of “fun money” out of each paycheck would be a good idea. I’ll get back to you on this…;-)

  2. I always set myself a monthly budget but have never though of doing it seasonally. Might give that a try and see how it works for me.

  3. I’m with you! I have a monthly budget but always mean to do a seasonal one… often sale/clearance temptations get the better of me, even though I know I’ll be happier in the long run with my wardrobe if I just make a list of things I want/need for that season and stick to that, rather than random purchases. Once again, I’m going to attempt this for fall – having fun shopping for just the right version of what’s on my list still allows me to shop (for those days when a girl just needs to go shopping…), but hopefully avoids the randomness. Let us know what you do and how it goes!

  4. Okay, I’ve set my budget! I did a little breakdown of what I want/need so I didn’t set it too low (I think): http://1008hollywalkpark.wordpress.com/2012/09/01/autumn-fall-fashion-wish-list-2012/

Leave a Reply

