Summer Wines

I am a red wine drinker most of the year, but when it gets too hot, I usually switch to white. I have been really into Gruner Veltliners lately.  Specifically, this one.  It is citrusy, light, and quite refreshing.  

My other summer favorite is a Vinho Verde.  It is light, slightly effervescent, and fresh tasting.  Santola is my favoirte, but probably only because there is a cute crab on it. 

If I am going somewhere that glass is not permitted, I fall back on good ‘ol Target adult juice boxes.  They are cheap, come in containers that are boat-friendly, and are good for sharing.  I have tried many of them, but the white sangria is my favorite.  

I would love suggestions.  What is your favorite summer wine? 

6 Comments

Filed under culinary cravings

6 responses to “Summer Wines

  1. Natalie

    I love Vinho Verde as well! I also love Sara Bee which is honey white wine that I get at Trader Joe’s. It’s actually more like sparkling juice than white which is what makes it soooo good!

  2. Sheela

    I am currently obsessed with a white wine called Chevalier de Bayard Blanc. It’s naturally effervescent, and tastes like a citrus cocktail. A.MAZING. It’s been wavering between 95 and 100 degrees here in Miami, so a cool white wine is just what the doctor ordered. Happy sipping!!

Leave a Reply

