Swimsuit Cover-Ups

I love spending time by the beach, pool, and lake, but unless I am actually in the water, you will not find me prancing around in my bathing suit.  You will find me in my swimsuit cover-up , giant hat, and sunglasses.  More than likely I will be under a tree, umbrella, or anything that will keep the sun’s death rays from burning my skin.  I have tried to just rely on sunscreen for protection in the past, and inevitably end up burned, so I happily wear my cover-up for protection.  I have two current favorite cover-ups: one that resembles an over-sized shirt and one that is a little like a mini dress.

I have had this cover-up for a couple years now and have worn in a handful of times with skinny white jeans in the summer. I like this one for lounging around because it is roomy and quite comfortable.

The mini dress was a find at Gucci Goodwill earlier this month.  The mini dress gets worn when I need to  go somewhere like lunch on a beach or a beach bar.  Obviously, it is great for dancing.

If I were in the market for a new cover-up, this striped one from J. Crew would be on the top of my list.  While it is sheer, it would be perfect for lounging under a umbrella.

Stripe tunic

This DVF kaftan would also be on top of my list.  If you found yourself at a beach bar or restaurant, I would feel totally comfortable.  I might even be up for dancing in it.

Diane von Furstenberg 

What is your cover-up of choice?

7 Comments

Filed under Closet Cravings

7 responses to “Swimsuit Cover-Ups

  1. I love the DVF caftan. I think I’d choose something like that if I could. Currently I have a sort of mini-dress like cover-up from Old Navy. It can in no way be worn as a dress on it’s own though; it’s cut to the navel!

  2. mamavalveeta03

    You look so adorable in that mini! I am remembering my youthful days (and thinking, “Did I ever look that good?” lol…) I love these coverups you’ve shown us. I tend to wear a J Crew linen/cotton tunic or a pareo from Calypso. I’m an “umbrella sitter”, so I don’t get too much sun!

  3. What kind of dress did you find at GG? The print looks incredible.

  4. Kim

    Which location are you calling the Gucci Goodwill?

Leave a Reply

