Closest Cleaning

I have been doing some major closet cleaning lately.  I haven’t been able to carve out time to completely dedicate myself to this, so I have been slowly working on it.   I took some pieces to a consignment shop last week, have a bag of pieces to take to another shop, am gathering pieces to sell on eBay, and am working on my bag of junk to be taken to Goodwill.  I have felt the need to get rid of clothing. Lots of clothing.  A couple of months ago I had a little over 100 dresses, and I am trying to get it down to around 30 or 40.  If I don’t love it fully and completely, it has no place in my wardrobe.  I am also really craving a small, extremely edited wardrobe.  The excess in my closet is annoying me and I am doing something about it.  If you are cleaning out your wardrobe, here are a few tips:

1.  If you can’t dedicate an afternoon to it, tackle chunks at a time.  In 30 minutes you can sift through your tops and pull out the ones you don’t love.

2.  If you don’t love it, get rid of it.  Seriously.

3.  Try everything on.  If it doesn’t fit you perfectly, but you love it , throw it in a pile and take it the tailor.  A tailor can do wonders for your wardrobe.

4.  If you haven’t worn it in a year, get rid of it.  Exceptions: cocktail dresses and a few nostalgic pieces.  I also keep designer handbags that I do really love, but haven’t used in a while, but feel free to sell these.

5.  If pieces are too small, put them in a special section of your closet, away from your clothes that do fit, and give yourself a deadline.  If they still don’t fit in 3/6/9 months (whatever you are comfortable with), get rid of them.  It never feels good to stare at clothes that don’t fit.

6.  There are going to be pieces you are on the fence about.  Put those in a box/bag/somewhere and revisit them in a month.  If you are excited when you pull them out a month later, keep them.  If you find when you pull them out that you  didn’t miss those pieces, get rid of them.

7.  Remember, they are just clothes.

Any tips you would like to share?

9 Comments

Filed under Closet Cravings

9 responses to “Closest Cleaning

  1. love these tips! esp #6, except I find the hoarder in me likes to revisit clothing I hardly wear but can’t give up! 🙂

  2. this is such a continual process for me so i sympathize. what consignment store do you go to?

  3. I’m with you in wanting an edited closet. Actually I want my whole place to be cleaned and edited with less stuff, but I’m starting in the closet. I just took some stuff to a consignment shop last week and I’m working on my thrift store pile now.
    Great tips, I especially think if you don’t love it, just let it go is key.

  4. glowingface

    Great tips.. But recently with so many fashion blogs around, i see they mix and match anything and then I am tempted to keep pieces that I don’t know how to match, but some day these bloggers will co-ordinate something beautifully n then I want mine! did i make sense??

    • I think blogs make us want more than we need, mine included. I am just wanting less in general and am not letting blogs or magazines influence that. I’m also leaning towards classics and simple outfits, which many blogs don’t show, so I think lately I’m a little less influenced. You always have to do what is right for you, right? And, just because it is on a blog doesn’t mean it will work for your lifestyle or body type.

  5. I have been editing my closet for a while, I take a bit at the time and I think right now I have one third of the things I have before. I got ride off the things that didn’t work and I have been slowly buying new ones that work better for me (hopefully!!). I don’t think that the perfect closet exists but i would like to get as close as I can : )

  6. Karen

    THANK YOU – after having serious depression I am finally starting to make headway and I know this because I pulled clothes out of my wardrobe and have a pile to get rid of or make further decisions about. I plan to get a friend or two to help me decide on those ‘on the fence’ items – if I have other pieces to go with them. I probably have about 30 skirts and want to have less so I have less choices to make when I decide to wear something nice. For the last year I have slopped around in tracksuits and am finally wnating to ‘dress up”

    • I am so glad you are coming out of your depression. I truly believe that getting dressed will make you feel better. Glad to hear you are feeling better. Keep me posted on your progress!

Leave a Reply

