Over the Weekend….

One of my dearest friends got married this weekend and I was lucky enough to be a part of it.  It was a three day event filled with laughter, tradition, love, and fabulous food.

The bride’s beautiful saris for the weekend.

Waiting for my henna to dry.  

My husband and I after the sangeet on Friday night.

I had never worn a sari before and was extremely excited to get to have the opportunity.  I had no idea how uncomfortable it was going to be.  You have to tie the skirt tight so it will hold up all the fabric.  Even though it was extremely tight, I loved wearing it.

Being a part of a wedding is always wonderful, but being part of one so rich in tradition was absolutely amazing and one I will never forget.  How was your weekend?

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Over the Weekend….

  1. that sari is so pretty on you!!!

  2. J.

    That sari is gorgeous! You look beautiful in aqua!
    (On another note, I worked all weekend..that says it all…)

  3. mamavalveeta03

    You look STUNNUNG!! That is your color, Sydney! They may be uncomfortable, but man, they are pretty. How fun is that?!?

  4. sounds like an amazing weekend–your yellow dress is gorgeous but nothing beats the sari. you look amazing in it.
    as an aside, your husband is HOT! you guys make a very fine looking couple 🙂

  5. How fun. Love your yellow dress (your legs!), and you look great in a sari!

  6. carri3

    You look great in that sari. I wore one a few years ago while visiting India, and didn’t find it uncomfortable, but I know there are regional differences in how it’s worn and tied, so perhaps I just got lucky … 🙂

    • Thanks! The fabric was so heavy that it had to be tied extra tight to hold it all up. Like suck in, tie it tight and then breathe out. After a few glasses of wine, I hardly noticed anymore. 🙂

  7. Beautiful! What a lovely sari! And I adore the henna.

    Vang 🙂

Leave a Reply

