Culinary Cravings: Gluten and Dairy Free

I have been seeing a holistic chiropractor recently (feel free to roll your eyes).  She specializes in phrenology and spends a lot of our sessions feeling my head to see what minerals and vitamins I am lacking and how my body is reacting to the environment (feel free to do a double eye roll here).  I really like her and have felt so much better taking the vitamins she has suggested and my lower back pain that plagued me most days is gone.  She has been nagging me to go  gluten- free.   She thinks I am allergic, it will help clear up my skin, and will get rid of the bloat I have been carrying around for, I don’t know, like, forever.   I  am struggling with this.  I am totally fine at home, but when I head out to a restaurant with a delicious, warm bread basket, I weaken and give in.  There are so many options at the grocery store for those who forgo gluten, but some restaurants are harder.  Have you gone gluten-free?  Was it hard?

On top of trying to be gluten-free, I am attempting to go dairy-free.  I love cheese.  In all forms.  Queso, creamy brie, and hard, salty Parmesan.  I don’t play favorites.  I have proclaimed that life is not worth living without a cheese plate and wine.  And I still believe this, but I am trying it out in hopes of getting rid of my stomach issues once and for all.  But, again, I am wondering what to eat when I go out to eat.  I enjoy going out to eat with my husband on weekends and I am already that annoying person who asks “Is there chicken stock in the queso?” “Do your tortillas have lard?”  “Does the rice have any animal fat?”  Yes, I eat Mexican food a lot.  I live in Texas and Mexican food is fantastic.  So now I must be the super annoying person who asks about gluten and dairy too?  I am already annoyed with myself and I haven’t heard me quiz the waiter yet.

So, can I give into cheese and gluten at restaurants?  Is that undoing everything I am attempting to do?  Will it fix all my issues?  Who knows.  It is worth a try, right?  Have any of you given up these items?  How hard was it?  Any advice?

22 Comments

Filed under culinary cravings

22 responses to “Culinary Cravings: Gluten and Dairy Free

  1. unless you’re having a severe reaction to gluten and dairy (I’m lactose intolerant so I can sympathize) I just don’t know if life is worth living 100% gluten and dairy free 🙂

    • I agree. I’m thinking I can really only manage 80%.

      Sydney

      This is sent from my phone, so please excuse any mistakes.

      • I think the 80/20 principle is a reasonable way to enjoy life. 80% clean food, 20% good stuff (chocolate!), 80% work, 20% play, and for one’s wardrobe: 80% classics, 20% trendy!

  2. Tina

    I’ve read in the book Skinny Bitch that it takes you 30 days without cheese to stop craving it, they are saying its just that addictive. Good luck!

    • 30 days!!! That is a long time. Did you like that book?

      Sydney

      This is sent from my phone, so please excuse any mistakes.

      • Tina

        Let’s say it’s an interesting book 🙂 It advocates a vegan diet and the language is pretty crude. It also seems very strict and opinionated, but that aspect did not bother me (too much).

  3. Meagan

    Hi! I also have been advised similar diet changes. But I’m a cheese addict (ok, and bread addict) so I’m following an 80/20 idea.

    It seems to be working ok, I’m getting less bloated and my skin is settling.

    I’ve also started eating a lot more seeds, so the increase in fatty acids has probably also helped my skin a lot!

    M

  4. Nikki

    Hi, Sydney. I’ve been more or less gluten free for about 5 years now, and my skin has been better, and I’m also much less bloated. I also have a more regulated digestive system- hopefully that’s not TMI. I always had kind of freaky skin, but I started to get really large cystic acne in my late 20s, and when I finally noticed that it would flare after large intakes of gluten, I gave up gluten for a while. I would also get itchy rashes on my hands at around the same times. My skin responded really fast, and since then I’ve tried to stay away from all gluten. It was really hard in the beginning, but I’m now used to knowing that when I eat out, I’ll probably just have a salad. My husband and I eat Mexican a lot, and I don’t seem to react to that, but I’m not trying to do dairy-free, too. That is hardcore, and I wish you the best of luck. It DOES get easier.

    • Thank you for sharing!!! I’m hoping the same thing happens to me. I have tried so many other things, but not giving up gluten. Hopefully it will be easier than I expect!

      Sydney

      This is sent from my phone, so please excuse any mistakes.

  5. Lisarae

    Don’t despair! Generally mature cheeses , like parmesan , have negligible lactose. Cheddar, Swiss, and Monterey Jack may also be low or no lactose. Check labels and nibble on!

  6. Lacie

    Yes, I gave up both, along with sugar and all processed stuff. Secretly, I was hoping NOT to see results. Well, I did. I have been eating clean since November and cant even begin to express how totally worth it the results have been.My skin is clear, joint pain gone, energy for days, no more migraines or seasonal allergies. I could go on. You do go through a withdrawal period. Feels the flu but passes in a week or two. By the way, I am an Austinite and Mexican food adict. I still manage to eat delicious food and maintain a social life. You can do this! Try dining at Backspace.

  7. Lisarae

    Oh ! And why not try one elimination item at a time? That way you can see how you feel without one of the food items and can say with some certainty that it was the gluten ( or the lactose ) . ? And you might be a happier person 🙂

  8. Lindsey

    I’d agree on the idea of eliminating one thing at a time. Also, remember that if you give something up, it may be really hard or impossible to add it back into your diet. I’ve been a lifelong vegetarian, but have always had eggs and dairy – I was raised that way. About 10 years ago I started adding in fish and shellfish. I tried red meat for the first time about a year ago…literally just two bites and I had horrible stomach cramps the next day. Your body will stop being able to process those things. If you’re not truly allergic, then just try moderation. Maybe limit yourself to just indulging at dinner time? Kind of like the vegan before 6 idea (http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/02/27/vegan-before-dinnertime/), but taking out gluten and dairy. As far as dining out, most places will be happy to accommodate if you let them know. If it were me, I would really try and get a second opinion about your allergies before I cut them out completely.

    • That is a good idea. I don’t eat a ton of dairy because I was told years ago that I was lactose intolerant. My doctor also said that you can go in and out of being lactose intolerant, which always seemed odd to me. I have never been able to drink milk, and ice cream usually does not sit well with me. I have seen a gastroenterologist and have had several tests run, including a colonoscopy. None of them ever mentioned gluten, though. I have been told many times to cut out dairy, but i have always been too stubborn. I do know that when I cut out gluten, even for a few days, I feel better. I feel best when I adhere to an all raw diet, but I have never been able to keep that up exclusively for more than a month or so. Trying it in moderation may help, right?

      Sent from my iPad

  9. Hi Sydney ~ My son was diagnosed with Celiac disease on his second birthday so we’ve been doing GF for almost 7 years. LMK if you need any pointers. There’s a local blog, glutengirlinaustin that lists local restaurants that accommodate GF. I have a list of products and resources I can e-mail you if you’re interested. ~ Erin

  10. J.

    When my boyfriend decided to go on an (almost) carb free diet I went along for the ride because it’s just easier to cook for 2 that way and I will say although I craved it every now and then, I did feel better (bloat thing.) But it was hard and now I’m back to eating them…I think I’m going for the 80-20 rule. (I did not give up cheese, however.)

  11. Michelle

    I would say don’t cheat. There are more and more restaurants that offer gluten-free food. I would do your homework and find out what restaurants in your area have gluten-free options. They also have apps to find gluten-free restaurants. I have been eating gluten-free for 5 years now and it was hard in the beginning, but worth it.

  12. I went in and out of hospital emergency rooms for years, without knowing what it was. A doctor finally said, you should eliminate milk. The bloat got better and I haven’t had to go in for adominal pain, except one day when I tried Lactaid and had cheese. I had to also give up cheese (except can have goat cheese) But that put me in the Hospital Critical heart unit for 3 days. The enzyme present in heart attack patients was present in my blood, but in the end I did not have a heart attack but a severe attack from the cheese and Lactaid. Now, even bread with small amounts of milk give me a bad stomachache. There is more reasons to avoid it now than ever. If you start avoiding it, you get even more sensitive. Does anyone know if this can be reversed? I am miserable when I have any little bit of milk in any product.

    Thanks,

Leave a Reply

