Wardrobe Basic: The Silk Top

Anytime I am struggling with what to wear, I always reach for a silk top, jeans, and heels.  It is easy and is appropriate for almost any occasion.  A silk blouse is dressier than a t-shirt, but just as easy.  I have several clients that won’t but silk because they find it too hard to maintain.  I disagree.  I find that silk is pretty easy to maintain.  When I get home, the blouse immediately come off and gets hung up.  After my second wear, I usually spray it with Febreze and  toss it in my dryer on the “freshen up” cycle.  After the third time (sometimes four or five) , it usually goes to the dry cleaner.  I have also hand-washed many of my silk tops with great results.

The only time I ever ruined a silk blouse was when I had a bag of greasy tacos sitting on my lap. I think the bigger question is here is why was I holding a bag of greasy tacos? The grease from my husband’s chorizo taco never came out.  Sadly, that shirt had to be retired.  Of course, lucky for me, not before I got the opportunity to wear it all day.  That was fun.  Besides that time, I have always managed to clean my silk blouses with out much effort, so they remain a staple in my wardrobe, and in my opinion, a wardrobe basic.

The Blythe blouse by J. Crew is pretty fantatstic.

Blythe blouse in silk

If you have more money to spend, you can’t go wrong with an Equipment blouse.

A couple of years ago I bought a Joie blouse in a gorgeous turquoise color.  I can’t tell you how many times I have worn it.  I love how bright this blouse is. 

On a budget?  I have found plenty of great silk blouses at Forever 21 and find many, many silk blouses while thrifting. So, what are your thoughts on silk blouses?

11 Comments

Filed under Wardrobe Basics

11 responses to “Wardrobe Basic: The Silk Top

  1. I used to be in the first camp: silk shirts MUST be a lot of work, right? But now I love silk and I have a couple of blouses from Madewell and J Crew. I just saw the Equipment blouse today at Henry Lehr in East Hampton and they ARE beyond gorgeous! (and so many colors, too!!). I might just have to…need one. 😉

  2. Kate

    Just a tip – i have had great success with getting grease/oil stains out of many different fabrics by using baby powder. Just sprinkle it on the stain (before washing or wetting it!) and leave it overnight. the powder should absorb most of the oil. if it didn’t get it all, just reapply and wait another day. cheap and easy!

  3. A silk top is always classic. The baby powder tip really works!!!
    http://www.notasinfashion.blogspot.com

  4. Something on my “to invest in” and “to expand my wardrobe in good ways” lists… (though I wouldn’t be opposed to coming across a thrifty version!). The JCrew one is so pretty, and I think I’d have it around for a long time.

  5. Cola

    Here’s a question – I stay away from silk tops because they always say “dry clean only” But can they be hand washed?

Leave a Reply

