In-home Peel

Last year I got a little hooked on going to my local esthetician school and getting facials, peels, and microdermabrasion.  Since I was approaching 30, I wanted to up my skincare routine in  hopes of avoiding the inevitable wrinkles that were coming my way. I haven’t gotten any treatments in about 6 months and could definitely see the difference in my skin.  I have problematic skin.  Ever since I gave up hormonal birth control a year and a half  ago, I have had bouts of acne.  When I was going regularly to get facials and peels my skin broke out less frequently.  Even though the esthetician school is cheaper than my dermatologist, the cost still added up pretty quickly.  I was about to give in and head back to receive another round of treatments until  I stumbled across a bottle of salicylic acid on Amazon the other day. I promptly ordered it and have been using it weekly for the past three weeks.   Since I have been using it, my acne has cleared up, not gone completely, but cleared up.  I have also noticed that my forehead wrinkles are a little less pronounced, my acne scarring is fading, and my skin is smoother.

I wasn’t worried about doing a peel at home because while my skin is acne prone, it is not sensitive.  My skin reacts well to peels and facials and  needs regular exfoliation.   Every time I have had a peel at a spa, my skin does not turn red and I can walk out and continue my day.  This peel has been easy to use and is a fraction of the cost of my spa peel.  I am in love with it and will continue to use it weekly as a part of my skin routine. It takes less than 8 minutes and leaves my skin feeling fantastic.

Would you be brave enough to do a peel at home?

Salicylic Acid 20% Gel Peel, 30ml (Professional)

esthetician

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “In-home Peel

  1. I’m not completely sure of its benefits or have had one before, but anything that would make my skin look better and feel good, I am willing to try. I’ve only done a microdermabrasion skin treatment once and didn’t feel like there was so much of a difference in my skin to get it done often.

  2. Ohhh, thank you for this! I’ve gotten peels and microdermabrasion before, but it’s inconvenient (only open during business hours when I’m working) and expensive! I think I’ll give this a try! My skin is similar to yours – not sensitive or red at all after peels, etc. but have the occasional breakouts. Ahhhh, our 30s….good times!

  3. I bought the same exact one from Amazon! My esthetician from MN had recommended that I find one that had 30% glycolic with a ph level of 3.0 and leave it on for about 1-2 minutes. So I found this one (I think I went with the stronger version–and I’m somewhat sensitive and I haven’t had any problems!). My skin is better than ever. In fact, the Dr. I saw this morning refused to believe that I am 51. I like that!

  4. I must be great if your esthetician is recommending it! How amazing for a doctor to be so impressed with your skin! Crossing my fingers that happens for me!

  5. isme2012

    When I was a teen I used to use a Salicylic Acid preparation all the time to get rid of stubborn and persistent acne. I few times I overdid it, but it wasn’t painful, just a tad unsightly as I peeled for days afterward and had to use a heavy face cream to control it under makeup – lol. Thanks for the link, I’ve been looking for a preparation rather than using the popular Pinterest aspirin facial 🙂

Leave a Reply

