New Year, New You?

While I don’t think one can totally reinvent themselves at the beginning of a new year, I always take time to reflect on the past year and make goals for the next year.  I am one of those people with a mile long New Year’s resolution list.  I have many things I would like to work on/improve when it comes to my business, health, finances, and closet.  Will I accomplish all of them?  Probably not, but I like to make a list of things I would like to improve upon.  We all have room for improvement, right?

One thing I always do this first week of the new year is detox a bit.  I wish I could say I were doing a juice cleanse, but I have tried that before and I become cranky;  no one wants to be around me when I am cranky.  Go figure.  Instead, I refocus myself on whole foods and eliminate alcohol, dairy, and sugar.  I always spend December indulging way too much in these foods, so taking a week off from them helps me feel like me again and helps my skin recover from the sugar/cheese/wine overload from the previous month.   This week I will also get a facial and a massage in an attempt to further help my body rid itself of toxins.

I won’t bore you with my giant list of resolutions, but will share one.  My biggest goal for this year and my closet is to buy less. I am a consumer and shopper by nature (is it just me?).  I love to shop so much that I turned it into my job.    This year I would like to see myself purchase fewer pieces.  I do a pretty good job of buying things I truly love, but I would really like to buy less in general.  Shopping for work all the time makes me want more.  All. The. Time.  And honestly?  I have plenty.  More than plenty.  Too much.  Who needs over 100 tops?  Apparently I do.  Yikes.

I have all my basics, and then some,  and would never vow to not buy anything at all because that is just setting myself up for failure, but I want to really focus on buying less.  How much is less?  That is something I haven’t decided on yet.  I will probably still shop monthly.  And I will probably still fill my Shopbop wish list to the brim, but I hope to bring home less this year than last.  That is something I know I can do.

What are your style goals?

7 Comments

Filed under Closet Cravings

7 responses to “New Year, New You?

  1. I’m with you on the buying less! I don’t even dare count how many new striped tops entered my wardrobe last year! 🙂

  2. Lindsey

    I’m trying to start out the new year doing the same thing…I even wrote about it on my blog today. I love the idea of shopping my closet more and trying out some combos that I haven’t done before.

  3. Nikki

    I would like to figure out my style. What tips do you give your clients for how they can focus on finding their own sense of style? I like a lot of things I see on blogs, but when I try to think about MY style I keep coming up with a big question mark. Any pointers??

    • I always ask my clients what they think their style is and then I ask them to show me their favorite outfit. Most of the time what they think their style is isn’t quite the same as what their actual style is. My suggestion to you would be to pull out your favorite outfit and pinpoint why you like it. Does it show off your best asset? Is it easy? Is it colorful and makes you smile? Also, try to determine what kind of style it is. Is it a bit minimalist? Bohemian? Menswear inspired? Once you decide that, you at least have a starting point for your style. Find items that match this aesthetic and most of all, don’t buy ANYTHING that you don’t love. And I mean LOVE. Most people’s style aren’t 100 percent anything. For example, I would say my style is simple, but refined (most of the time!). I like classic pieces with bit of vintage and trendy pieces thrown in for good measure. Of course, sometimes I throw all this out the window and surprise myself with something completely out of my comfort zone. But, that is what it is all about! Try different things and see what feels most like you. I hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

