Wardrobe Basics: The Evening Shoe

Every woman needs a fancy dress shoe that automatically makes an outfit evening ready.  No, the black pump you wear to work will not work.  That doesn’t mean that you can’t wear your basic black pump out, but you should have a great evening shoe for those really special occasions.  I wear mine with cocktail dresses and to dress up a t-shirt and jeans.  Being a lover a shoes, I have several evening pairs; I have gold, silver, red satin, black satin, and bronze.  My evening shoe collection could use a closed-toe shoe for the colder months.  I have dressier heels and booties that work, but a closed-toe dress shoe would be a great addition.

I get the most use out of a red satin pair of

This grey pair is great for wintertime and will go with so many things in your closet.

I would wear these gorgeous shoes with a cobalt, emerald, or fuchsia dress.

Bow-Topped Slingbacks

You can never go wrong with a little sparkle.  

Moonlit Peep-Toes

Everyone needs a classic black evening shoe. The rose keeps it from being boring.

This is a total splurge, but I have been in love with this shoe ever since I saw it on Sex and the City.  I have a version in gold.  Of course mine are Anne Klein, not Manolos.

Manolo Blahnik 'Sedaraby' Open Toe d'Orsay Pump

What is your evening shoe of choice?

7 Comments

Filed under Wardrobe Basics

7 responses to “Wardrobe Basics: The Evening Shoe

  1. lisarae

    $755 for a pair of shoes ??
    Right! I know they exist
    but who are you?, the 1% ????
    Please don’t do that to us!
    You are cute and seemingly talented
    However, please, keep it real.

    • A part of the 1% I am not, but a girl can dream about pretty shoes, right?
      I do try to show a variety of prices, but sometimes you just have to splurge, or pretend to splurge via the internet.

  2. I love to see both the “real” and the “unattainable but in my dreams”–I am having trouble wearing heels at all anymore (you should’ve seen me last night on heels after one glass of wine!! lol…), but maybe a kitten heel would do it. Any more than that, and I’m gonna’ do a face plant!!

    • I should do some flat/low heel options. My sister only wears flats too. Val, I would love to see you after one glass of wine. Maybe one day!

      • Kate

        Yes! I aspire to be better at wearing heels, but just can’t do it for an evening full of drinking/dancing…some dressy flat options would be great 🙂

  3. S–I just got a similar version of those Manolos in gold for $80! Keeping it real by not paying retail!

  4. My evening shoes are black patent leather with a small bow. The heel is quite low but I like to think the shine of the patent makes them dressy. If I’m only fooling myself, please don’t tell me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

