What to Wear on Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays.  I absolutely love cooking and entertaining, and Thanksgiving is like the Superbowl of entertaining and cooking.  This year we are hosting Thanksgiving to  12 friends and family members.  I am really looking forward to it, and what to wear for the holiday has been high on my priority list.  I always like to wear a dress on Thanksgiving.  To me, this is a bit of a dressier occasion and calls for an outfit that is a little fancier than your average t-shirt and jeans look.  Last year I wore my DVF tunic and riding boots.  This year I will be wearing my new DVF sweater dress , riding boots, and a statement necklace.  It is loose enough to let me feel comfortable while eating/cooking all day, but polished enough to feel put together.

Remember my dream Thanksgiving dress? Well, it didn’t look as great as I hoped, so back it went.  So, what should you wear?   I will always suggest a dress.  Something comfortable, yet polished.  I think a sweater dress is perfect for this occasion.  Sweater dresses can be hard because sometimes they add bulk and cling to you in all the wrong places, but if you pick a looser fit, this won’t be a problem.  This Vanessa Bruno dress would look great with a pair of riding boots and some sparkly jewelry.

Vanessa Bruno	Smock Sweater Dress

I love the leather detail on this black sweater dress.  I would pair this with black tights and black booties.

Zadig & Voltaire 

Saving your pennies for Christmas shopping?  This Mossimo sweater dress is under 30 dollars and would look great with either black or grey tights, booties, and topped  with a colorful scarf.

Mossimo® Women's Ultrasoft Rouched Sweater Dress - Assorted Colors.Opens in a new window

If you aren’t into dresses, then why not pair skinny black jeans with a silk top?  Black is a little dressier than your regular dark denim, but still just as comfortable.  These J. Crew skinny black jeans are high -waisted and really flattering.

High-waisted skinny jean in pitch black wash

These jeans paired with this silk emerald green blouse makes for a perfect Thanksgiving ensemble.

So, what are you wearing to Thanksgiving?

8 Comments

Filed under Closet Cravings

8 responses to “What to Wear on Thanksgiving

  1. J.

    Yikes! I haven’t even thought about it! I’ll be hosting& cooking, so I’d like to be a little dressed up as well…That Target dress might not be a bad idea…

  2. I have not given my outfit too much thought, but last year I wore a sweatshirt dress. I totally agree that something simple and roomy is the way to go.
    It’s too bad that dress didn’t work because the color is gorgeous and I love the draping.

  3. That sweater dress is gorgeous – I love the cut and the color. It’ll look smashing on you.

    As for me, I have no idea what I’m going to wear. I’m actually agonizing over it a bit as I’m meeting the BFs family for the first time. Yikes.

  4. Jeans with a bit of s-t-r-e-t-c-h for cooking and snacking. Maybe an outfit change later on-I have a brownish-orange Calvin Klein sweater dress that I might wear with flats.

  5. love that you dress up for Thanksgiving. maybe I’ll put on something other than my elastic pants this year…

  6. Pretty, pretty. But if I dress up, does it mean I can’t spill? I usually am the most dressed up in our family, which means that I’m not in my sweats. I love to have on a nice sweater, leggings and pretty jewelry. I want to be able to eat until I burst!!!

Leave a Reply

