Unexpected Cocktail Attire

I know it is hard to believe, but the holidays are upon us.  Which means many family gatherings, holiday parties, and office parties.  Many of these events require cocktail attire, and since I love an excuse to dress up, this excites me greatly.  Sometimes instead of the trusty LBD, you want something different, something a bit unexpected.  If this sounds like you, then I have some options for you.

I am absolutely in love with this mock turtle neck dress.  I love how it is covered up, but still sexy at the same time.  I would switch out the black shoe for a colored shoe for an extra pop of color.

I have one pair of dressy pants, but I definitely wish I had more.  These Alice and Olivia pants  are a fun way to stay warm and still look nighttime ready.  I would pair them with a white t-shirt, statement necklace and sparkly clutch.

While a sequined mini definitely says cocktail attire, I would make it a little more unexpected by pairing it with a fisherman’s sweater, tights, and booties.

What do you wear when you don’t want to wear a cocktail dress?  Also, my Thanksgiving dress is on sale here and here.  I totally caved and bought it.  Maybe you should too.

 

9 Comments

Filed under Client Cravings, Closet Cravings

9 responses to “Unexpected Cocktail Attire

  1. It’s so cute, especially where you can watch the video of the model actually walking in it on Saks 5th Ave. Love it!
    With our family gatherings, it’s all casual, and I’m usually the most dressed-up in a cashmere sweater and nice trousers. At parties, it totally depends on the type: I’m not usually invited to the dressy type, so I’d probably go with my new pencil skirt that I talked my mom into as an early Christmas gift (Anthro: http://www.anthropologie.com/anthro/catalog/productdetail.jsp?id=23112428&catId=CLOTHES-SKIRTS&pushId=CLOTHES-SKIRTS&popId=CLOTHES&navCount=6&selectedProductSize=L&selectedProductSize1=14&color=049&fromCategoryPage=true&isMailSent=true&_requestid=74149) with tights, booties and a sweater or silk blouse from JCrew or Madewell.

  2. Oh I love the turtle neck dress! It seems like it would move really well.

    Lindsey Soup

  3. I generally don’t have much of a reason to get really dressed up this time of year other than our company holiday party. I’ve tried to minimize the stress by using Rent the Runway.
    I love the first dress! I’m all for a dress that looks demure at first glance but hits you with some sexiness like with a low back.

  4. I would love to find a pair of really fabulously dressy pants. Or a sequined skirt. Either of those for the holidays would make me very happy.

  5. S

    You’re the only lady I know that could rock all three of those pieces!

Leave a Reply

