The Importance of Mixing Hi and Low

Yesterday I wrote about my great thrift store find, but I think it is also important to focus the importance of mixing high and low pieces.  I like to mix my thrifted/vintage/inexpensive pieces with higher end pieces (I should clarify that higher end, for me, usually consists of contemporary designers, not couture).  While there are exceptions to every rule, in general I think outfits that mix higher priced items with bargains are the most interesting.  Yes, if you walk into Neiman Marcus, and pull everything off a mannequin, you can walk out looking like a million bucks.  Every once in a while a head-to-toe vintage/thrifted look is absolutely stunning, but for me, I the mix of the two is where it is at.  Sometimes I find myself in head-to-toe Old Navy, and the other day I found myself dripping labels, but I feel most like me when there is a nice mix of the two.  When you wear your Old Navy sweater with a designer bag or premium denim, you automatically look more luxe.   And your thrifted top definitely makes your fancy shoes seem more down to earth and your overall look more interesting.

Linda is someone that I think does this well. Her shoes and handbags are usually nicer and they play well with her thrifted finds.

2011. sunday best.
cardigan by halogen. thrifted dress. merona belt. corso como sandals. tory burch alice mini bag.
a quick snap of sunday’s outfit— i feel like the villian from a 1980’s soap opera (in a good way). tonight, schoolwork and my little family beckon. see you tomorrow!
the look | similar cardigan | similar dress | similar belt | similar sandals

Sharon always impresses me with her mix of high low, too.  She appreciates quality shoes and jewelry and knows how to pair them with her amazing vintage finds.

Jentine’s thrifting abilities are amazing.  She knows how to thrift quality pieces and pairs them with gorgeous accessories.

marchesa2

So tell me, do you mix higher end pieces with cheap finds?  Or are you a head-to-toe designer person?  A head-to-toe thrifted dresser?   Old Navy and Gap all the way?

5 Comments

Filed under Closet Cravings

5 responses to “The Importance of Mixing Hi and Low

  1. I think you’re doing a very good job of convincing me that I need to start a serious thrifting habit!! These all look great; and I think the key is quality shoes and bags, and then you can go low-ball on your other pieces. Smart…and thrifty!!

  2. Oh, I’m definitely a high-low mixer. I can’t afford a complete designer wardrobe and I’m a bargain shopper at heart, so I like creating outfits from different sources.

  3. thanks for the shout out! You forgot mixing thrift/vintage with Jcrewwwwwwwwwww! 😉

  4. Thanks for the shout out, Sydney! I own a good mix of high and low pieces. Like Angela mentioned, I like styling outfits from different sources, too. You can often find designer-looking items at thrift stores, cast away from the 70’s or 80’s. To me, that’s the fun part– breathing new life into old things.

Leave a Reply

