Leather Pencil Skirt

I scored this leather pencil skirt at Thrift Town this past summer for 3.00.  To make the deal even sweeter?  It fit like a glove.  I have always loved the idea of a leather pencil skirt, but wasn’t really willing to spend the money on something I wasn’t sure I would wear all the time.  I tell my clients all the time that pieces that aren’t going to get a lot of wear should not cost a lot.  It is all about the cost per wear.  So far my cost per wear is 3.00.  I am hoping to get the cost per wear down to pennies.  At first this skirt didn’t seem like something I would wear all the time, but I have a feeling it is going to get  a lot of use.  Would you wear a leather skirt?

Vintage leather skirt, 3.1 Phillip Lim sweater, Stella Dot necklace, Payless shoes, and Forever 21 trench.

14 Comments

Filed under Client Cravings, Closet Cravings

14 responses to “Leather Pencil Skirt

  1. the skirt looks great on you! I can’t believe it’s Phillip Lim sweater time already!!!

  2. lauren s

    I also bought a leather pencil skirt from a thrift store (olive colored Laundry – it was a good find 🙂 I never thought I’d wear it but it’s been surprisingly versatile. I just requires a good conditioning every once in a while and it’s good as new

    • How do you condition it????

      • lauren s

        Just buy leather conditioner (I found mine at Target) and then massage it into the leather using a soft rag/washcloth. I think it took me 10 minutes or so last time and it made the skirt look a million times better. Yours looks nice and soft but mine was dried out and would show scratches – not good.

  3. I am completely jealous that you found a real leather skirt that fits you like a glove! I would totally wear a leather skirt in lots of yummy (yet realistic) colors.
    I think you’ll get plenty of use out of it because it is black and you can certainly wear that in place of a regular black skirt in any outfit.

  4. I think I would if it hit mid-knee, as long as it was a pencil skirt. I would wear it with chunky sweaters and knee-high boots, or maybe even booties, if the vibe of the sweater was boho. Yeah…I think I really like that idea! (I love it on you!!)

  5. That skirt is such a abulous find…I definitely think it could be versatile!

  6. I thrifted a leather pencil skirt this summer as well. It was more expensive than yours ($7.00, I think), but still a good deal. I don’t often wear pencil skirts (you canNOT ride bikes in them) but I figured it might be fun to have. I still haven’t worn it because pencil skirts aren’t really my thing and I had no styling ideas. But, this I love and might give a shot.

    • That never even occurred to me that your wardrobe needs to be functional for bike riding. I know you have mentioned you ride your bike to work, but I never really thought about it. I am observant, obviously.

  7. Bri

    What a score, it looks great on you! I’d wear this skirt with blazers, cardi’s and pearls anything goes I think!

  8. Pingback: The Importance of Mixing Hi and Low |

  9. Pingback: Spend or Save? |

Leave a Reply

