Wardrobe Basics: LND

The little navy dress is an important part of a wardrobe.  I think it is even more important than the little black dress. Why?  Well, your LBD will take you anywhere, but sometimes black feels too safe, boring, or heavy.  That is where a little navy number comes into play.  Navy is perfect for work, a wedding, a cocktail party, anything, really.  Navy is flattering and a bit more unexpected than black.  Plus, it plays well with so many colors.  Grey, red, metallic, turquoise, and yellow shoes would all be fantastic with a navy dress.  I get a lot of use out of my navy dress and am currently looking for another option to add to my wardrobe.

I love this navy lace dress.  You can dress it up for a night out, pair it with a blazer for work, and come summer, it will be perfect with a pair of silver t-strap sandals.

Adrianna Papell Lace Shift Dress

This is a dressier and more expensive lace option, but I love it just the same.

This Ralph Lauren dress would be a great day to night option.  The ruching on the side is super flattering, too.

Lauren by Ralph Lauren Shirred Matte Jersey Dress

This dress is another perfect day-to-night option.

Looking for a navy cocktail dress?  This one  is perfect.

Navy

Do you have a navy dress in your wardrobe?

5 Comments

Filed under Closet Cravings, Wardrobe Basics

5 responses to “Wardrobe Basics: LND

  1. I just bought a navy knit dress, so now I do have a LND.
    I love the last sequin number, so fun.

  2. amy

    I have a couple of navy dresses– a sweater dress from Anthro from a couple of years back and a very Audrey Hepburn in Roman Holiday number that I found at the Gucci Goodwill. The second one cost me under ten bucks and I’m AMAZED at how often I wear it and love it.
    In fact, I was just telling Nathan that everyone always says you have to have a go-to little black dress for special occasions, but I’ve never one time worn a great dress and wished it was black instead of some other fabulous color.

  3. I’m just starting to work blue and navy into my wardrobe (I’ve stayed away for too long because I was always scared to pair blue with jeans), and I’m not usually a fan of lace, but that first dress…just WOW. Great round-up!

  4. I was just talking with my mom about how I was thinking I need to add a versatile navy dress like this to my wardrobe – and then I saw this great post… makes me feel like I’m starting to develop at least a little style sense of my own, ha!

    Especially for day, I think navy just seems nicer than black – less stark, less standard/potentially boring, a little lighter feeling. And I love how great navy looks with such a variety of things – I generally don’t like white and red with black (waitress-like or too stark), but with navy = fabulous!

Leave a Reply

