Wardrobe Basics: The White T-shirt

Every woman needs a great white t-shirt in her wardrobe.  This, of course, is in addition to the white button up, but that is another post…  White t-shirts are utterly versatile.  The perfect white t-shirt can dress down a fancy skirt, is great with a pair of jeans, and is the ultimate blank slate. I love pairing mine with a large statement necklace for a dressed up version of a t-shirt and jeans look.  They are fantastic under blazers, and go with pretty much anything in your wardrobe.

One thing you shouldn’t  do is spend a ton of money on a white t-shirt. I have made that mistake before and was upset when the t-shirt began to yellow and needed to be tossed.  Since t-shirts don’t last season after season, make sure you only spend what you are comfortable with.

Here are a few of my picks for white t-shirts.

These Target tissue t-shirts are super soft and drape really nicely.  Now that fall is here, why not pick up a long-sleeved one, too.

Mossimo® Women's Tissue Tee - Assorted Colors

I have had pretty great luck with the 3-pack of Hane’s men’s t-shirts.  Plus, if you are like me and spill EVERYTHING on you, you have two more waiting in reserves!

If your budget is a bit bigger, then I would suggest the T by Alexander Wang t-shirts.  I do really love the one I have.

The J Crew tissue t-shirt is another favorite of mine.  It is super soft, but is a bit sheer.

Tissue long-sleeve tee

What do you wear with your white t-shirt?

5 Comments

Filed under Closet Cravings, Wardrobe Basics

5 responses to “Wardrobe Basics: The White T-shirt

  1. I mostly wear them with my uniform, skinnies, boots or flats and a jacket. I am always looking for the perfect white t-shirt, recently I bought a half price James Perse one. I love T by Alexander Wang’s but they are far to expensive for me…

  2. I love white tees, but I absolutely refuse to spend a lot of money on them. They just don’t last for me. I usually get one or two (or three) from Old Navy every summer. I haven’t tried the Target ones though; maybe I’ll give them a shot.

  3. I never want to do pricey, but then someone like Alexander Wang or James Perse comes along and I’m sucked into their orbit. My problem is pit stains. I’ve found that “Lady speedstick with Stainguard” has been a lifesaver for me.

  4. I love white tee shirts, but a little while back discovered that they don’t necessarily love me. I’m large-busted. When I caught a glimpse of myself in the mirror or looked at photos of myself in a simple white tee, I felt like I looked overall larger than I was–all the focus went to my bust. Since then I’ve learned a little more about accessories, and I think layers will help, but for a simple tee shirt all alone, I’ve reached the conclusion that a black V-neck or scoop neck tee is the equivalent of the white tee for the full-busted.

Leave a Reply

