Wardrobe Basics: Nude Shoes

Every woman needs a nude shoe.  This is always the number one shoe I tell my clients they need to own.  Not black, but nude.  I own 6 pairs of nude shoes: a t-strap sandal, a high-heeled sandal, a kitten heel, a wedge, a platform, and a dressy pair.  And again, when I say nude, I mean something that matches your skin tone.  They will elongate your leg and make you look taller.  Who doesn’t love that?  Nude shoes also go with EVERYTHING and work from season to season.  While black goes with many things, it looks really heavy in the spring and summer.  Nude doesn’t have this issue and it looks great in the winter and fall, too.   I pair mine with bold colors, white, black, pattern mixing, really everything.  They are worth spending more money on because you will get a lot of use out of them, but personally, I have never spent over 250 for a pair of shoes.  And those were my wedding shoes.  I am really hard on my shoes, and even though I care for them and take them to the shoe hospital, if I wear them often, my shoes wear out after a couple of years.  So most of my shoes are in the under 100 dollar range with a few exceptions here and there. Here are some of my recent picks:

I get a lot of use out of my nude kitten heels.  These Nine West kitten heels would be a great addition to any closet. Bonus? They come in several shades!

I am loving this sandal because it would work with something casual or dressy, and even though it is a pretty big heel, the platform should make it easy to walk in.

This pair is under 30 dollars and will work for both day and nighttime looks.  Again, Target has several shades of nude pumps.

Women's Mossimo® Pearce Pumps - Beach Patent

I have been on the hunt for a pair of nude (to me!) ankle booties.  These might be the ones.

So, how many nude pairs of shoes do you own?  If you don’t  have any, which ones would you most likely wear?

9 Comments

Filed under Client Cravings, Closet Cravings, Wardrobe Basics

9 responses to “Wardrobe Basics: Nude Shoes

  1. those nude booties are calling my name! what color tights would you wear them with?

  2. I own one pair of shoes that I could consider my nude shoes. I absolutely love them, but need to find a more suitable pick for the cold weather. I love these picks, but especially the platform sandals!!

  3. I have a pair of nude Cole Haan sandals that I wore all summer. They went with everything–and to me, that’s a huge bonus since I’m always running late and yelling, “What am I going to wear for shoes??” I have a pair of nude kitten heel pumps that I love, by Spring (ALDO subsidiary?), and slingbacks. They’re a MUST for a long leg-line.

  4. I am looking for a pair of nude shoes (you have read my mind). I saw below ones and they tick the boxes for me. They look like a copy of a pair from Ash. I don’t think the usual nude pump will work for me…
    http://www.newlook.com/shop/womens/boots/punched-peep-toe-shoeboot_227790021

  5. Ly

    I love nude shoes. I wear them a lot since I”m super short and it makes me look taller.

    -Ly

    http://www.lyzhang.com

  6. Great advice! I have two pairs of nude-ish shoes (they don’t actually look nude on me, but close enough)…a basic low-heeled pump similar to the Nine West ones above, and a higher-heeled peep-toe. Both are patent leather. I’m on the lookout for a nude wedge, though…that would be the ultimate in comfort and chic.

Leave a Reply

