Too Short?

I wore this yellow number to the AFW week award show on Saturday night.  Everyone was dressed up–some even in long gowns–which was so nice because Austin can be really casual.  The runway shows were great and there was a violinist that played to hip hop music who was awesome.

I must admit that I went back and forth over whether or not I should wear this dress.  I do wear some short pieces, but for some reason I felt like this dress seemed extra short.  I think it was the combo of the exposed shoulder and shorter hemline.  That, and I felt  like the back was shorter than normal.    My husband insisted it wasn’t too short, but I didn’t quite trust him because I think he would be OK if I wore a tunic as a dress, so I relied on Sharon to make the call.  She claimed it was short, but wasn’t too short.  Once I got to the event, I felt comfortable and didn’t tug at the dress at all, which made me realize that I did feel comfortable in it.  What do you think?


Curry Beth dress, necklace from Touch of Sass, Banana Republic shoes, Felix Ray for Target clutch.

13 Comments

Filed under Closet Cravings

13 responses to “Too Short?

  1. Tina

    The dress looks stunning on you, not too short. And the combination with the necklace is amazing!

  2. Apples

    Love. It. That is all.

  3. That dress is fantastic on you and definitely not too short. I love this outfit, especially with that awesome turquoise necklace.

  4. you know I love this outfit and color combination on you. thanks for taking me to the fancy schmancy party!

  5. Well, it looks like it passes the fingertip rule 🙂

    And I think you look great! What a wow color.

  6. I think you look amazing! This color combination is ridiculoulsy perfect for you. And the skirt, while short is not too short. I think the fact that it skims your body instead of hugging it helps immensely. Short is okay, tight and short can be a little risky (and risque).

  7. I think it’s high time you showed a little more leg!! That dress is stunning especially with that fabulous necklace 🙂

  8. i think you look great!! wear what you like, girl!

    short is great on you!

    mindofmr.blogspot.com

  9. Kate

    I think it is darling! If it was satin, tight, ruched, low or any combination of the above, it would have had the same effect of a too short skirt, but it looks fresh and appropriate! I am crazy about the complimentary color action and think you look great. Your husband is right to think you should wear short skirts – you have excellent legs!

  10. LOVE. The shape, the length, the colors. You styled this so beautifully!

  11. mamavalveeta03

    You look gorgeous…are you kidding me? Too short?? Just take a look at those gams!! (and the leg-lengthening nude shoes was a touch of brilliance with the colorful ensemble!)

  12. Thanks for your sweet comments. You all better watch it, I might start wearing hot pants now.

  13. Looks great, and that necklace is perfect!

Leave a Reply

