Volunteering

Today was my first day volunteering for Dress for Success, a company that helps dress women “by providing professional attire, a network of support and the career development tools to help women thrive in work and in life”.  I have been feeling the need to volunteer more lately, and this seemed like a perfect fit for me.  I spent my afternoon helping a woman find the perfect skirt suit, sifting through donated clothes, and tagging those that were deemed work appropriate.  And, I also got to meet Laurel from Trophy Boutique who was volunteering as well.

Since I had never volunteered there, I wasn’t sure what to expect.  When I don’t  know what to expect, I like to wear something fairly comfortable and work-ish.   I have worn this dress before, but changed up the belt and added a pile of pearls and chains.  I normally don’t like matching my belt to my shoes, but with this busy print, I felt it would be too much to do contrasting colors.  Do you match your belt to your shoes?

Thrifted dress, self-made pearl and chain necklace, Aldo shoes, Banana Republic belt, Rebecca Minkoff bag.

5 Comments

Filed under Closet Cravings, Gucci Goodwill

5 responses to “Volunteering

  1. How great that you’re sharing your talents and gifts with Dress for Success. It’s a wonderful organization!

  2. That is such an awesome way to volunteer, get a little fashion in with helping others. 🙂

    Thanks to my mother, I am totally against being all matchy-matchy, so as a general rule I try not to match my belt and shoes. But I think it looks great in your outfit because they are different tones.

    Love the color of your Nikki (?)!

  3. Dress for Success is a fabulous organization. Both I and a few friends have donated our time there over the years and I think it’s just super that you are too.

    You look fabulous in this and I think the belt and shoes were a good choice. I can go either way with matching my belt and shoes. Yesterday I wore neutral shoes and a bright belt, today I’m wearing matching. It just depends.

  4. Pingback: Scuba Top |

Leave a Reply

