Honing Your Style

I have been thinking a lot about honing my sense of style.  Really editing my look and getting rid of pieces that aren’t me and only adding pieces that are perfectly “me”.  Basically, I want a smaller wardrobe that is perfectly edited.

Yet, I don’t want to take it too far.  While I love that Ina Garten, my culinary hero, knows what works for her, I don’t  want to wear the same thing all the time.

I am spending this week editing my closet.  Pulling out pieces that don’t work perfectly for my taste, lifestyle, and body.

One piece I picked up recently that is perfectly me is this 3.1 Phillip Lim sweater.

I can see myself wearing this all the time with many different pieces.  I want to wear all the pieces in my closet all the time.  If I am only wearing it sometimes or every once in a while, it needs to go.

How edited is your wardrobe?

7 Comments

Filed under Closet Cravings

7 responses to “Honing Your Style

  1. I’m in a similar stage of my life. I grew tired of looking at clothes that I never wore (and some that I didn’t even like). I purged a lot of items in February. I think it’s a great idea for every woman to edit their closet once a year or every few months. You figure out what works and what doesn’t!

    Save your good stuff! We should have a clothing swap this summer. :o)

  2. I’m a lot more edited than I have been in awhile after doing a bit of a closet clean up a few months ago. I’m also slowly getting better at picking up pieces that I am loving rather than a few that I love and a lot of others that I just like.

    I think getting your style together is a bit of a process and will come together after some time. A good closet purge is always a good first step.

    • I think I just want my style to change from what it is currently. I think since I am going be 30 this week, I want to elevate my look a bit and am just not liking pieces anymore.

  3. Lisa

    If I haven’t worn it in a year I toss it (well take it to consignment). That way I end up with things that I know I wear and I love wearing.

  4. Mamavalveeta03

    This is a BIG…..no, HUGE issue for me!!! We’re getting ready to sell our house and I’ve got a LOT of work to do. I have already decided (based on what you and Grechen have blogged about) that I have to cull my wardrobe and live with the things I truly love. So that’s my goal. And then I am going to allow myself to buy only things I LOVE and, bonus, they can be more expensive if I’m not buying everything I see at Old Navy and Target!!!

Leave a Reply

