Getting Dressed

Sometimes it is hard to get dressed in the morning.  You have a closet full of clothes, but nothing to wear.  Everyone feels like this sometimes.  I feel like this sometimes.  So, how do you avoid this every day?

–Have go-to outfits.  You should have some kind of outfit that you know works for you and looks great on you.  Mine is  a shirt, usually a dressy t-shirt, jeans, big necklace, and heels.  For work occasions, it is a shift dress and heels

–I put together 5 or 6 outfits and hang them in my closet.  It is usually something I have been wanting to wear, something new, or something unusual.  I don’t reach for these outfits every day, but when I am short on time and can’t figure out what to wear, these outfits really come in handy.

— For my clients, I take pictures of outfits.  Now, this IS time consuming.  But, if you have the time(around 3 hours), taking the time to put outfits together, take pictures, and upload them on your computer will save you tons of time in the morning.  All you have to do is click through your pictures to find an outfit for the day.

–Stop stressing.  Sometimes we all (or maybe it is just me) get a little too caught up in having on the perfect outfit.  Just throw on something and go.  In the end, it is just an outfit and it is only one day.  There is always tomorrow.

Any tips for getting dressed in the morning?

This is an outfit that was in one of pre-picked outfits.  It made Friday morning a breeze.  I had a shopping excursion with a client, and of course, I waited until the last minute to get dressed.  So, having this already picked out made it that much easier to get out the door on time.

Forever 21 striped jacket, Nine West dress (thrifted), Old Navy wedges, Old Navy belt, gifted Tory Burch bag.

9 Comments

Filed under Client Cravings, Closet Cravings, Gucci Goodwill

9 responses to “Getting Dressed

  1. I don’t function so well in the morning so this is a great idea Sydney! I need to start putting together outfits for a “grab and go” kind of day!

  2. Good tips, Sydney! I have such a hard time in the mornings. Plus, half my closet requires ironing (it’s kinda cramped). I will start putting outfits together for the week. I just got a new job, so I need to look a bit more put together.

  3. Mamavalveeta03

    My co-worker and friend is great about telling me what looks good on me, and I really trust her judgement, so my go-to outfit is my flare-leg trouser jeans from GAP, my v-neck cotton sweater from J Crew in “cerise” (just a fancy way of saying orange, as far as I can tell!), and my Jewelmint necklace that incorporates navy and orange–kind of funky!

  4. You make jacket look like a million bucks. Seriously, F21 needs to give you a high five!
    I need to photograph some back-up outfits to save me when I am… running late, like usual.

  5. I don’t have any tips to add and I have to say I love the idea of putting a few outfits together, not for everyday, but for when I’m feeling rushed for time. I can usually pull something together, but there are days I just can’t and I think this tip will help me immensely.

  6. vonmachc

    I love love love that dress. Great color! Cute outfit!

    Xx

    http://chelseasgirl.wordpress.com/

    http://theidea-generator.com/

  7. hi! Just found you and LOVE this outfit. It’s everything I love (stripes, brights, dresses, etc). 🙂

    Meggy from Chasing Davies

Leave a Reply

