Goodwill’d Out

On days where I work with wardrobe clients and tutor students, I have to look professional and pulled together, yet I still need to look a bit fashion forward.  A pencil skirt in an interesting color is a great way to go.  I paired this chartreuse pencil skirt with a patterned top for even more interest.

This outfit worked until my event last night.  Then, I changed into something more fun, but forgot to take a picture!

What are your tricks for staying fashion forward while still being work appropriate?

Top and skirt from Goodwill, Aldo shoes, necklace from Touch of Sass ( a local boutique)

7 Comments

Filed under Client Cravings, Closet Cravings

7 responses to “Goodwill’d Out

  1. Such a pretty color combination. I’m not a pencil skirt wearer, but I am definitely a bright skirt wearer and I think this looks fabulous.

  2. I 100% agree. Pencil skirts are my go-to for professional wear, and the bright color lets your personality come across.

  3. Oy, I think about this question a lot. In fact, I think that’s the majority of my blog! What I’ve come down to is this: as long as I look like I’ve taken real care in my appearance and have crafted something that makes me feel professional, I consider it a success.

  4. i am completely impressed with your goodwill findings! i am a beginner and have not had luck lately.

  5. I like to give a touch of whimsy to stay fashion forward. An unexpected piece of jewelry like a small animal brooch (I have a great tiny jeweled frog or a bird) or an different belt with an animal head buckle (like an owl) or deep jewel-toned leather belt, or a single medium to large cocktail ring. Also, I like unexpected (but not clashing) color combos.

  6. J.

    I love a good jacket or blazer with just about anything, they somehow cover a multitude of sins from to short a skirt to a too tight top…not that I ever go to work this way…

Leave a Reply

