Cocktail Attire for Day

My cocktail dresses are not pieces that get worn very often, but I have a lot of them.  When I see a cocktail dress at a good price, I have a hard time resisting.  But, I don’t live a lifestyle that requires a cocktail dress every week or even every month, so they sit there.  I have vowed not to buy anymore, and try to get some use out of the ones I do have in my closet.

I have only worn  this silk slip dress to parties, but it easily transitioned to day appropriate with the right styling.  I wore this while shopping with a client yesterday.  Do you wear your cocktail dresses during the day?

Twelfth Street by Cynthia Vincent slip dress, Anthropologie jacket, vintage belt, Old Navy wedges, old gold earrings, and a  Tory Burch purse.

17 Comments

Filed under Client Cravings, Closet Cravings

17 responses to “Cocktail Attire for Day

  1. Sarah

    In love with this! I had a little dress on like that today and then realized it was only 40 degrees out 😦

  2. great outfit!! I am also a sucker for a good cocktail/dinner dress (you’ve seen my closet) ;o)

  3. I absolutely love that jacket!!! And that is a perfect piece to showcase your fancy dress. I have dresses that just sit in my closet too and think it is great when you can get more wear out of something.
    I don’t have many cocktail dresses, but do have one that is made of jersey (I swear it’s a fancy dress) that I was thinking of having the train cut off to make into a maxi dress.

  4. Mamavalveeta03

    Ummm….What cocktail dresses??? 😉

  5. Impressive! I always want to take my shiny-happy-gussied-up looks and translate them to the daytime but I tend to get stuck somewhere along the way. I think your color pallet and practical accessories make the look work, as does the cut and shape of the dress itself. Consider the wheels of my brain to be turning!

  6. Pingback: Cocktail Attire for Day | Basic Cravings

  7. Wow, this looks great. I can’t resist buying cocktail dresses either, especially vintage ones, but also don’t have the lifestyle to wear them. I love this though and maybe I’ll give it a shot.

  8. I have this same problem. Lot’s of party dresses and no parties to attend, except for parties involving pinatas and bounce houses—and believe me I’m already over dressed for those parties!
    I’m really trying to get more use out of these dresses and would love to see more ways you take night to day.

  9. You look fantastic and the dress goes so well with your jacket, I wouldn’t have thought that it was cocktail dress instead of a day dress. I’ve actually gotten rid of a lot of my cocktail dresses for the very reason you mention, I don’t have an occasion to mention, but perhaps if I picked dresses that were more versatile, like yours, I wouldn’t have to waste money and send away those things. =)

  10. Love the slip/dress! So pretty!

  11. This outfit is so chic, I love it!

  12. Love that jacket! How old is the jacket?

Leave a Reply

