Sunday Event

I worked an event on Sunday and I wore silk pants.  This is not a good idea.   Silk pants, while I love them, are like linen.  They wrinkle and stretch quickly.  Not really good for making a good first impression.  “Hi, hire me!  I wear wrinkled pants and you can too!” Hmmm.  Probably not my best choice.  Luckily, I was sitting for most of the time, so my prospective clients didn’t always see my wrinkled, stretched out pants.

Let’s talk about the length of the pants.  Most often when I am in my client’s homes I talk negatively about capris.  Capris tend to be unflattering.  If they are the cropped, slim Audrey Hepburn type of capris, they are great.  If they are the flared type of capris, they cut you off and make you look shorter.  I always tell my clients, if you are going to wear  a capri or a cropped pant, pair them with a nude shoe so your leg looks a bit longer.   I finally listened to my own advice.

A picture: me before I was a pre-wrinkled mess.

JCrew pant/t-shirt/necklace, Nine Wests shoes.

10 Comments

Filed under Client Cravings, Closet Cravings

10 responses to “Sunday Event

  1. My problem would have been the sweating THROUGH the pants. That’s hot. (pun, intended). 🙂

  2. Love the outfit! Your makeup looks extra super pretty in this pic!

  3. Desert Flower

    You look great! I LOVE this outfit. As much as I love you in brights, you look amazing in a palette of neutrals.

  4. Mamavalveeta03

    I think fabrics like silk or linen are meant to be wrinkled. Don’t get me wrong, I iron before wearing, but inevitably, you’re going to end up looking like a shar-pei by the end of the day!
    I LOVE this look on you–compliments your coloring beautifully (and the makeup is lovely, natch!). I could also see it with a turquoise necklace for a pop of color.

  5. I like those pants. If those are the same as a pair of dark blue pants I have, then I know all too well how much of a wrinkled mess they can look like after awhile. Sometimes I carry a bottle of wrinkle releaser to help, but I’ve pretty much banished linen from my closet from now on (I love silk too much to do the same). 🙂
    I love this outfit, especially with the nude shoe.

Leave a Reply

