Pattern Mixing

I haven’t done much pattern mixing, even though I have enjoyed seeing others do it.  It is easy to mix patterns with something in common: color, size of patterns, shape of patterns.  For my first go round, I decided to tie the look together with a color.  The jacket and the dress both had white in it, making the two easier to wear together.

This cherry patterned dress is not something that I would have picked up for full price.  It is a little too lady-like and whimsical for me, but when I spotted this Yoana Baraschi dress at my Gucci Goodwill, I knew it had to be mine.

Do you mix patterns?

Thrifited dress, Forever 21 jacket Urban Outfitters shoes, Marc Jacobs bag,  Stella and Dot necklaces: arrow and Midnight.

Here I am with Sharon after Grechen’s awesome panel.

20 Comments

Filed under Closet Cravings

20 responses to “Pattern Mixing

  1. Sonja

    You look great! Love the mix.

  2. I completely love this look on you. The dress reminds me so much of something Chuck from Pushing Daisies would wear. The idea of mixing patterns is very appealing to me, but I can never bring myself to actually do it.

  3. This outfit is so All American-I love it! Sounds like you guys had a blast…

  4. Mamavalveeta03

    You’re not kidding! That place IS the Gucci Goodwill!!! I love the mix of stripes and florals–it’s cute, fresh and chic!

  5. I will take everything you are wearing please! 🙂
    I love the patterns you decided to mix and I especially love that MJ bag and the yellow shoes. You seriously lucked out at that Goodwill!!
    I am sloooowly embracing pattern mixing, but just in baby steps.

  6. i don’t think i got a chance to tell you, but i LOVED this outfit. i totally know what you mean about the dress being on the girly side, but you balanced it out so nicely with the stripey jacket. adorable! (although, i must say i think your color-blocked outfit from sat night was my fave!)

    it was so great to meet you! XOXO

  7. Next time I come to Austin, can you blindfold me and take me to the mysterious Gucci Goodwill? I won’t tell anyone where it is, I promise! It was so good to see you this weekend in your fabulous dress and striped blazer.

  8. mrsnonia

    This is a great pattern mix. I almost look at the stripes as not being a pattern. The dress is definitely the dominant print. Beautiful outfit.

    And – spoken in the Ozzie Osborne voice – “SHARON”!!!! Hi 🙂

  9. Kelly

    Adorable outfit! 🙂 You totally look like you could be a page out of a magazine! Super cute!

  10. Very nice! I’m not typically drawn to floral prints, but I really like this one. The simple colors in the interesting prints really make the combo work well together.

  11. this outfit is so so great! the yellow shoes keep it quirky and that bag is gorgeous!! xo, laura

  12. Pingback: Mixing Patterns: Black and White | Basic Cravings

  13. Pingback: Tough and Feminine | Basic Cravings

Leave a Reply

