Work Appropriate

Working in an office requires dressing a certain way.  I cringe a bit when people wear inappropriate office attire: too short skirts, too tight clothing, low cut tops.  When I worked in an office I felt like my attire stifled my personality.  In hindsight, it was probably that I was ready to try a new job.  I think you can still be “you” in an office without looking inappropriate.  If I still worked in an office instead of wardrobe consulting, then I would wear this outfit.  I would feel covered up and conservative, but still like me.

If you work in an office, how do dress like yourself while still being appropriate for the work place?

Banana Republic top, Calvin Klein slacks, Urban Outfitters shoes, JCPenny necklace.

7 Comments

Filed under Closet Cravings

7 responses to “Work Appropriate

  1. I love this outfit!! It would be great for the office and would make you stand out in a sea of boring. 🙂
    I like to jazz up my work outfits by having fun with the jewelry sometimes, but I usually like to wear a bright color or fun pattern for something a bit different.

  2. I love this outfit! I could definitely see it working great in a conservative office like mine, but it wouldn’t stand out as too formal or buttoned-up anywhere. Love the use of primary colors.

  3. I have this top! I actually got it with tags still on when thrifting one day! So I had it drycleaned and have worn it once! I love the top, too, as it’s perfect for my growing midsection!

    I absolutely love how you styled it here and I may be using your outfit as inspiration for a future outfit, I hope you don’t mind!

  4. I love the necklace with this outfit. I like the whole outfit, but the necklace just makes it fabulous.

    I work in an office setting, but we’re not customer facing, so the dress code is a little more lax. I keep my pieces professional (no booty shorts or strapless tops) but wear those pieces in bright colors to represent who I am.

  5. Girl, I cringe every day, although I have to admit that it’s sometime at myself. I try to keep it fun with accessories, and stay true to my style by bringing in lots of layers.

Leave a Reply

