Panic Room

Ya’ll.  I am in a bit of a panic.  Tomorrow, my husband and I are headed to Galveston, TX, so I can give a presentation on How to Dress for Success to a state-wide banking convention.  Currently, I am pretending that state-wide means 20 people.  Texas isn’t that big.  Is it?  Did I mention I have a fear of public speaking?  Specifically in front of adults?  Do you think this banking conference will be filled with teens?  Here’s hoping!

On meet the teacher night, back in my teaching days, I used to have to will myself not to vomit before getting up in front of my student’s parents.  A room full of 14 -year- olds.  No problem.  A room full of parents?  Yikes!  I used to also hope that they didn’t notice my shaking hands, shaking voice, and face that was five shades of red.  I wasn’t fooling anyone.

So, I am hoping that I will get over my fear by diving in head first into something super scary.  Presenting on stage.  To a room full of adults. Adults! I have given a few presentations to teachers back in the day on various teacher things, you know, things like how to make sure your apple necklace, jean jumper, and Keds match.  Those sorts of items.  Kidding.  But I did present in larger venues a few times.  But they were fellow teachers.  These people are not fellow teachers, nor are we in the same industry.  All I am hoping for is not to vomit. And not to shake too terribly.

So, what is my point?  I do have a point!  What to wear?  I spent the better part of  this past Saturday morning trying to figure out what to wear.  Black skirt and top? Dress?  Slacks?  In the end, I think I decided to go  with a black dress, bold necklace, interesting shoes, and my Spanx.  No girl should get up on a stage without her Spanx.  Am I right?  Yes.

I will be back on Wednesday to show you my outfit, but I know I will be wearing these shoes:

And these Spanx that my husband refers to as my football gear:

Spanx2

12 Comments

Filed under Closet Cravings

12 responses to “Panic Room

  1. You’ll do great!
    Just know that if you mess up, everybody has been there before. Nobody is judging you. If you flub over words, just giggle, pardon yourself and continue. If you don’t make a big deal out of it, nobody else will.

  2. Aww, don’t feel so nervous!! I dread public speaking too, but if you just prepare your material beforehand, rock that fabulous outfit, enjoy what you are talking about and take some deep breaths before you get up to that podium, you’ll be okay. If all else fails, picture everyone naked; then they would be the ones who should turn red. 🙂
    Good luck!!! And you’ll get through it and wonder what all the fuss was about.

  3. Sydney–you are going to be AMAZING! You’re going to look great as always and I think that your personality and humor will shine through in your presentation. Best of luck!

  4. Mamavalveeta03

    The deep breaths work wonders, but also, how about a little positive self-talk? Don’t talk yourself into being MORE nervous. Dress in something that makes you feel confident, and then…fake it!!! Really! And if that fails, picture everyone in the audience in their underwear. That’s what I’ve always told my girls!

  5. Yes, like others have already said, prepare and practice. I even practice the “off the cuff” jokes I make! Practice, practice, and definitely time yourself. I tend to rush through presentations when I’m nervous, so prepping with a timer helps a lot. Also, when I’m nervous I just think about what I’ll be doing after the presentation. It kind of gets me in the mind frame of “the world will not end while I’m up there and there is something to look forward to after the excruciating hell of public speaking”!
    Don’t worry you’ll kick ass! 🙂

  6. You are so funny. Good luck tomorrow! I also have to do something nerve-wracking tomorrow, and I’m kind of glad I’m not alone. 🙂 Just think of yourself as a confident expert & you’ll be fine! (I know, I know, easier said than done.)

  7. Pingback: On the Road « Basic Cravings

  8. Jane

    Hi; I just stmbled upon your website after visting Grechens.

    I despise public speaking. After many years of panic, my doctor gave me a prescription for propanolol. It’s a beta blocker used to treat high blood pressure but it will make your heart stop pounding and generally relax you. For me it absolutely does the trick. Many performers use it routinely to combat stage fright. Good luck.

  9. i’m really behind on posts so just catching up but really proud of you for this and i’m sure it went great…gonna read on now to find out!

Leave a Reply

