Culinary Cravings: Animal, Vegetable, Miracle

I listen to books on CD.  Every day.  Without fail.  I don’t listen to the radio anymore unless I am in my husband’s car.  Currently, I am reading Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbra Kingsolver.  I love it!  *Disclaimer* I LOVE reading books about food and have read Omnivore’s Dilemma, In Defense of Food, and Eating Animals to name a few.

Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life (P.S.)

If you are into local, organic food, this book is for you!  It has made me want to really work on eating locally as often as possible.  I am also thankful for the Farmhouse Delivery service that we have been using for over a month now.  Each Thursday we get a delivery filled with local, fresh produce.  This is what came this week:

I love that it has pushed me to try new recipes that I wouldn’t normally try otherwise.  For example, today I made persimmon cookies.  

I would have never done that if I were left to shop on my own.  And, I feel better knowing I am helping local farmers. Do you try to  eat locally?

4 Comments

Filed under culinary cravings

4 responses to “Culinary Cravings: Animal, Vegetable, Miracle

  1. yum! how were the cookies? we tried farmhouse delivery in the early stages and I got too discouraged trying to figure out what was exactly in my box and how to cook it :o) Looks like you got a great assortment! (tho what are the yellow flower thingys? squash?)

  2. What are you going to do with the squash blossoms? I have some growing in my garden but hadn’t thought about eating them (I’ve just been annoyed that the huge plant only produced one squash!). The idea of buying locally grown food really appeals to me, but so far most of my local consumption consists of what grows in my garden—which is a good start! 🙂

  3. Mamavalveeta03

    I’ve heard that book is fabulous. I love Barbara Kingsolver’s other books but had neglected this one because I just thought, “Oh, it’s about food…meh.” But I’ve heard that it is SO much more than that. I’m going to give it a try!

    Your cookies look SO good. And I am so hungry for something that we don’t have in the house right now!!!

  4. I read this book, too, and it made me wish I had a green thumb. Where did you find the recipe for persimmon cookies?

Leave a Reply

