Culinary Cravings: Bread

Lately I have been cooking more and trying new recipes.  I also have this huge desire to make things from scratch, eat local, and grow my own vegetables.  Yesterday, I made my first fancy bread without a bread machine.  It was quite tasty, but a lot of work.  It took several hours to rise, knead, wait for the starter to rise (this was new to me!), and bake.  In the end, it was worth it.

I used this book that I picked up in the library earlier this week.  Do you go to the library?

Ultimate Bread

I made Schiacciata con le Cipolle Rosse e Formaggio.  Uh, say what?  I don’t know what that means, but it sure tastes good.

5 Comments

Filed under culinary cravings

5 responses to “Culinary Cravings: Bread

  1. that looks amazing and so gourmet!!

  2. Looks delicious!
    I love to make my own bread—but I still rely on my bread machine! 🙂

  3. We use Peter Reinhart’s Artisan Breads Every Day. Everything we have tried has turned out perfectly! We make bread almost every other day.
    Happy baking.

  4. Mamavalveeta03

    Red onions AND bread….my husband would fall in love with your cooking!!! lol

  5. I was just thinking of trying bread making this fall. Thanks for sharing this-loooove purple onions…

Leave a Reply

