Cheese Head

I have been a vegetarian for over 15 years.  I have always wanted to go vegan, and was successful for several years, but my love for cheese always prevents me from being a full-fledged vegan.

On Thursday, I stopped by Antonelli’s Cheese Shop in Hyde Park.  If you live in the Austin area and love cheese, you need to stop by this place.  The staff is unbelievably helpful, friendly, and knowledgeable.  I walked in looking for cheese that would pair well with a Petite Syrah, and before I knew it, I was taste testing four different cheeses.  They were phenomenal.  I also loved that I got to try everything before you commit to buying.  When faced with pricey cheese at the market, I always shy away unless I have tried it before.  Who wants to spend 18 dollars a pound on something that you aren’t going to like?  Not me.  They also cut to order, so I was able to get just enough cheese for my husband and me.

They also have a decent selection of wine, beer, and cheese accompaniments like olives, nuts, crackers, and salami.

16 dollars later I walked out with enough for two: four kinds of cheese, Moroccan almonds, olives, and the most wonderful loaf of ciabatta bread I have ever had.

4 Comments

Filed under culinary cravings

4 responses to “Cheese Head

  1. Mamavalveeta03

    That sounds so perfect for a light lunch or dinner. And I’m a cheesehead (originally from WI), so this sounds especially good to me!

  2. You should come to Austin. We will eat cheese. 🙂

  3. Amy

    How did I not know about this place?! We’re cutting back on dairy, but mainly that equates to no milk, not no cheese. (Double negative? Eh. No matter.)
    Anyway, thanks for the link! Can’t wait to try this place out.

Leave a Reply

