Shallow Hal

When I left my meeting yesterday, I was thrilled!  It went really well, and I hope to be back with more exciting news regarding it in the future.  It could be a wonderful work opportunity for me, so cross those fingers, please!

I was also excited because I received a text after the meeting that made me feel good.  I had been thinking on my run yesterday morning about how shallow fashion can be sometimes.    While I love my job as a wardrobe consultant, I sometimes feel like I am not doing enough for society.  Don’t get me wrong, I love fashion, read about 10 fashion magazines a month, love seeing what other people are wearing, and like to be pulled together myself.  But sometimes it does seem a bit shallow; however, I DO feel better when I am dressed well, and when someone gives me a compliment about my outfit, I smile and feel my self-confidence rise a bit.  This is also why I randomly stop people to tell them I like something they are wearing.  I think that people like compliments, so I give those and smiles out regularly.

So, the reason I felt better about my job is because when I left my meeting I received a text from a client  that had just recently been through a break-up.  She was thanking me for her recent purchases because she, “wore her new skirt and got a TON of compliments.  Thanks!”  And then I felt good.  I do think people feel better when they look good.  I know I do.  In the end, I do think it is important and I truly love hearing clients talk about how a new outfit we picked out made them feel good.  Do you feel better when you are in an outfit you know you look good in?

Oh, and I am using my sister’s camera here.  A good camera makes a huge difference!  Getting your husband to take your pictures doesn’t hurt either.

I am wearing a Zara shirt, GAP jeans, Banana Republic shoes, and a necklace from Neiman Marcus ( I have no idea the brand).

And, because I think it is funny:

14 Comments

Filed under Closet Cravings

14 responses to “Shallow Hal

  1. I understand what you mean about feeling shallow with a fashion blog (maybe those are my own words, but i can relate to the feeling).

  2. great pics! my husband has a knack for taking truly awful, awkward pictures of me. it’s like his mission in life.

  3. ^^ Haha I like what that commenter said.

    I also very much love your shirt and seeing your hair down! 🙂

    Looking good definitely means feeling good. And while I think there is a line that people cross sometimes with fashion and becoming way too ridiculously superficial, I think you’re far from that point. You have the sweetest motives. 🙂

  4. Sonja

    LOVE the outfit. I have a passion for stripes even though I’m not sure I can pull it off so I live vicariously through others. 😉 As the previous poster mentioned, your hair looks great down. Must not be blazen hot there right now?

  5. mamavalveeta03

    I love stripes! I wear them even tho’ “technically” I’m not the body type to wear them. I love the way you styled the outfit with the necklace. I’m going to try it with my new striped sailor top from H & M.

  6. amy

    Yay on your meeting and more potential good stuff to come….
    This topic makes me think of what Anna Wintour said in The September Issue, about how her family doesn’t value what she does. And she’s Anna Freakin Wintour, you know? 🙂

  7. I definitely agree. I sometimes feel a little ridiculous about liking fashion so much and putting some importance on dressing, but I definitely feel better about myself when I’m happy with what I’m wearing. Also, whether we like it or not, what we wear definitely can affect our opportunities and careers (I’ve seen it happen too many times–both for the good and the bad).

  8. I struggled with my love of fashion and feeling like I should be doing something “important” with my life. As I got older I realized, like what you and other people posted, looking good helps boost one’s confidence. This doesn’t mean one has to be on trend all the time with super-skinnies or the latest boots or whatever, but feeling like you look good does more for your self-confidence than any label inside the clothes ever could.

    As for me, I stopped apologizing or hiding my love of style. So, on my coffee table you will find Lucky and Vogue along with the latest research journals in education (my current field). 🙂

  9. I’ve just discovered your blog and oh boy! what a pleasure! All your outfits are so lovely and inspiring!And you seem to have such an amazing collection of necklaces!
    I totally agree with what you wrote : fashion can be seen as shallow sometimes but feeling good in what you wear is such an important thing in everyday’s life … I feel the same way you do.
    Greetings from Paris!
    D.

Leave a Reply

