Garden Delights

Today’s dinner was made with ingredients from our garden!  It was quite exciting to be able to cook directly from my garden.  Mind you, I only used basil and eggplant from the garden, but at least it was something!  I was hoping to use tomatoes from the garden, but we used the only ripe ones for our guacamole at lunch.  Tomatoes from the garen are delicious.  Last week we ate them with nothing but a bit of salt.

I made eggplant and tomato orzo with pesto.

Here are my eggplants!  I forgot to take pictures of them before I started peeling.

I sautéed onions, garlic, eggplant, salt and pepper for about 10 minutes.

Added two handfuls of grape tomatoes.  I would have used tomatoes from the garden if any had been ripe.

I added several handfuls of organic spinach.  I sautéed them until the spinach was wilting and the tomatoes were beginning to burst.

I added pesto that I made with basil from the garden, walnuts, olive oil, garlic, and salt.  I usually use Parmesan, but skipped it this time.

It was quite delicious.  I like simple food with fresh ingredients.

Leave a comment

Filed under culinary cravings

Leave a Reply

