Wardrobe Basic: Statement Necklaces

Gracey from Fashion for Giants wrote me last week asking about statement necklaces.  You all know I LOVE a statement necklace, so I am happy to create a post demystifying statement necklaces.

While they might not seem like a wardrobe basic,  statement necklaces are a wardrobe basic.  They add some visual interest to a t-shirt and jeans look or help a cocktail dress become a showstopper.  Every woman should have a statement necklace and a cocktail ring in her jewelry arsenal.  So, if you don’t own one, how do you choose?  Here are few tips to help you pick out your own statement necklace.

1.  When trying something out of your comfort zone for the first time, I always recommend going a bit cheaper.  If you realize you wear it all the time, then it is worth the upgrade.

2. Out of all my statement necklaces, I gravitate towards my blue ones and my bronze one the most.  They play well with the majority of my clothes and aren’t too flashy, making them perfect for everyday wear.  What colors will go well with your wardrobe?

3.  Proportion is key here.  I have broader shoulders and am a bit taller, so I can wear a large statement necklace.  If you are petite, make sure you pick a smaller statement necklace.  Remember, it only needs to be a statement on you.

4.  Keep the earrings simple.  I either wear studs or no earrings at all.

5.  Keep the rest of your outfit simple.  If I am looking to make a really bold statement, I will pair my necklace with a bold outfit, but many times you will see me using my statement necklace to dress up a casual outfit.

6.  You can never go wrong with pearls.  If you can find a statement necklace with pearls, I promise you will get a lot of use out it.  It is classic and goes with everything.

Still can’t decide?  Here are some of my picks:

This is a simple and cheap way to give statement necklaces a try.

This black J Crew necklace is super easy to wear.  I broke my black statement necklace and I always wish I had one to wear with everything from t-shirts to stripes to dresses.

Resin colorblock necklace

I love this Stella and Dot pearl necklace.  It is classic and works well with t-shirts and dresses.

Sofia Pearl Bib Necklace

Want a bold statement necklace?  Then this J Crew one is for you!

Bubble necklace

I ordered this one this past weekend.  I think it would be the perfect way to add some sparkle to a t-shirt.

Crystal Venus flytrap necklace

This one is pricey, but worth it.  It plays well with black, navy, camel, white, brown, and gold.

Pegasus Necklace

 

If you are petite, this necklace is perfect for you.

Carolee Golden Rules Bronze Cluster Necklace, 18"

So, tell me.  Do you have a statement necklace?

14 Comments

Filed under Client Cravings, Closet Cravings, Wardrobe Basics

14 responses to “Wardrobe Basic: Statement Necklaces

  1. Thank you, Sydney! I will definitely use these tips to find a statement necklace. I want one very badly, I just had no idea on how to go about it!

  2. Mary

    I want to learn how to accessorize but I also don’t want to look like I am trying too hard. Shoes can get pretty tricky too. Thanks for sharing necklace ideas!

    • I would be happy to do a post on shoes. Do you want one on shoes in general or is there a specific kind?

      As long as you keep the rest of the look casual, a statement necklace won’t look like you are trying too hard. With the temperature dropping, you could also do a scarf as a statement piece.

  3. ooooooooo how did I miss that black jcrew one? and I love the one you got too–it’s been languishing in my cart for a while now :) I’ve always loved statement necklaces but never felt comfortable wearing them out–until I got encouragement from you! :)

  4. Carolyn

    Many thanks for these tips. I wear glasses (just find it’s more comfortable than contacts and it hides the crows feet/dark circles better – hahaha!) so I feel I can never wear necklaces without too much going on up there. The only think I feel I can get away with is longer necklaces. Thoughts?

    • I don’t think you need to limit yourself to longer necklaces. I have friends that wear statement necklaces with glasses. I think it looks great! I might not wear the biggest statement necklace ever, but I wouldn’t shy away from them.

  5. mamavalveeta03

    I love this post, Sydney!! I adore statement necklaces, and will continue to wear mine, even when fashion considers them “out”–they make the outfit! I can wear mine with jeans and tees, a tank and a blazer, a simple dress. MY style shines through my choice of jewelry and accessories. I have a couple of pieces by Wendy Mink Jewelry that are stunners, and one by Samantha House that I just wore to a gala with a black dress. TONS of compliments–you can’t go wrong.

  6. Wow, love these statement necklaces, especially the pearl clustered necklaces.

  7. Wonderful practical tips (#2 in particular). I have just discovered statement necklaces and have found they can be a fun and affordable way to dress up and add color to an everyday outfit.
    I’ve put a link to this post on my blog, since I’d like to share it with others. … :)

  8. Great post…lovely necklaces! There’s nothing like a great statement piece to “make” a look!

  9. I buy most of my statement pieces from F21 only because I lovelovelove them and want as many as possible! Haha! I think maybe someday I’ll invest in a nicer one, but for now, it does the trick for me. I love wearing the tribal princess necklace, or anything with chain fringe! These are excellent choices! Love this post!

Leave a Reply

